Aniara | Shaping the Future with Innovative Solutions

Aniara Lab Tech Award

2008 Lab Tech Award Winner

Aniara is happy to announce the winner of the 2008 Aniara Lab Tech Award in the amount of $1000.

Kelly Townsend
Ms. Kelly Townsend

Congratulations to Ms. Kelly Townsend - 2008 Lab Tech Award Winner

The 2008 Coagulation Hemostasis Technologist Award of Excellence (CHTAE) selection committee received and reviewed the nominations of fourteen hemostasis and coagulation technologists. The committee recognizes the high level of commitment to provide excellent patient care and quality laboratory medicine of all the nominated technologists this year. The selection committee is pleased to announce that Ms. Kelly Townsend, from TriCore Reference Labs in Albuquerque, NM, USA has been selected as the recipient of the 2008 CHTAE.
Kelly's Medical Director, Dr. Kendall Crookston, MD, PhD, summarized Kelly's wide range of responsibilities. Kelly is responsible for the operation of a large special coagulation laboratory that services a high percentage of the population in the state of New Mexico. In addition, Kelly is a consultant for upwards of seventeen off-site hospitals and laboratories affiliated with their organization. Dr. Crookston wrote that Kelly has "remarkable insight into quality issues, compliance and meeting the needs of both physicians and patients". Kelly is a volunteer faculty member at the University of New Mexico Department of Pathology and the Transfusion Medicine Fellowship Training program.
The committee agreed that Kelly demonstrates the attributes that personifies an excellent coagulation and hemostasis technologist and is deserving of the 2008 CHTAE. The committee agreed that Kelly's approachable nature and empathy, her knowledge base, as well as her commitment to provide excellent patient care and quality laboratory medicine, has enabled Kelly to become an essential team member for the provision of health care in the state of New Mexico. The committee recognizes Kelly's strong leadership abilities and her contributions to the education of technologists, medical students and residents in the area of coagulation and hemostasis.

Congratulations Kelly! Sincerely,
Karen Moffat, Chairperson
on behalf of the 2008 CHTAE Selection Committee



View Video



2008 - Kelly Townsend


2007 - Karen Moffat
2006 - Donna Castellone
2005 - George Fritsma


2008 CHTAE Election Committee

Karen Moffat
Hamilton, ON, Canada

Marc Lauzon
Hamilton, ON, Canada

Hugh Hoogendoorn
Hamilton, ON, Canada

Anne Raby
Toronto, ON, Canada


Mike Keeney
London, ON, Canada


Linda Stang
Edmonton, AB, Canada

Debra Gindis
Vancouver, BC, Canada

Steve Johnson
Boston, MA, USA

Sally Samaniego
Stanford, CA, USA

Dave McGlasson
Lackland AFB, TX, USA



This website contains information on products which is targeted to a wide range of audiences and could contain product details or information otherwise not accessible or valid in your country. Please be aware that we do not take any responsibility for accessing such information which may not comply with any legal process, regulation, registration or usage in the country of your origin.